Art Journal: A Song in Their Hearts

 

This week I have been fighting a cold that is keeping me in the house, making me feel lazy, but not letting me sleep. Since I moved my computer desk to the window, I have a nice place to sit and work with a view of the yard and my chicken coop.

Not being able to concentrate doesn’t necessarily mean I can’t work and I’m beginning to think that doing more experimental work that doesn’t have to be ‘finished’ will improve my gallery work. To this end, I broke out a new art journal this week for mixed media concepts and set to work on a theme for songbird paintings.

As you can see in the photo above, I did a good job stopping once the concept was captured and was able to move on to the actual project.

 

22729142_901505083333489_5216246028140392030_n

As you can see, I have been unearthing materials and substrates that were piled up when I moved the studio upstairs. I am also repurposing nice frames and glass from old political paintings that aren’t of the same quality as my current body of work. I will set these old pieces aside for some kind of New Year’s sale or promotion.

The new songbird concept really resonated with me and I was able to complete it pretty quickly. Here’s a detail shot of the bird just before I put the finishing touches on it. I will make a separate post for the completed piece some time this week when I can get a good photo.

22852909_902478846569446_2291853212956828345_n

Frances Byrd is a stay-at-home mom, community volunteer, and artist who loves all things old, living in the country and keeping chickens.

Leave a Reply

