Sometimes the painting that isn’t ‘Finished’, is actually complete.

This is a slight rehash of a previous post, so I won’t go into a lot of detail. You can read the rambling original here if you like.

The last few months have been stressful for me and I have been spending a lot of time thinking about art and painting concepts instead of making art. We all have slow spells, especially when we get burned out – and I was certainly in that boat after running a crowdfunding campaign.

One of the huge struggles I have always had as an artist is stopping before I overwork a painting. My husband has been telling me for years that I overwork things, but I’m stubborn and don’t listen. At any rate, this project seems to be a a turning point in my process and the reason for so much personal and creative introspection.

Above, is the first painting, which was purchased by a patron based on a work-in-progress post on Facebook. He wanted it the way it was, and I was happy to oblige even if I was a little concerned that I had not finished it to my own satisfaction.

Below is the second painting that I had to complete quickly because I had started the first piece for an upcoming art show.

Songbirds#1

As you can see, it is not nearly as strong as the first painting. I love the background and the original elements of the design, but am less happy with the new font I had to use to fit into the smaller canvas. Additionally, the lower half of the sky was rushed and not really part of the painting. It’s obviously added in as a second thought. This happened because I didn’t think about the cardinals blending into the background. I should have turned them into cedar waxwings to achieve contrast, instead of trying to make the sky work around them.

It has been a long time since I felt like I truly messed up a painting. Even so, there are elements of this piece that I like and it introduces the concept of the songbirds into my work. This is a new theme that I plan to expand upon extensively and which seems to really appeal to my friends and patrons.

I hope you will check back in periodically to see how I progress now that I have gotten over this creative roadblock.

This painting is on display for the Annual Members Show at the Quinlan Center until November 25th.

Frances is a stay-at-home mom, community volunteer, and artist who loves all things old, living in the country and keeping chickens.

Leave a Reply

