Hand-Painted Box

Eagle Box

I have been hoarding small wooden boxes for a while in the hopes that I can start painting them for gift shops and local boutiques. There’s a pile of random boxes of various sizes and materials, in various states of disrepair on the shelf in my mixed media closet. There are also a couple of cigar boxes, of which I am particularly fond, and I recently discovered a local source for future acquisitions.

Ever since I started drawing the tiny birds, I have been looking for more interesting ways to use them in my work. I have been making pretty good use of them in mixed media projects and I am planning to expand into assemblage and papier mache uses for them in the spring. They already seem to be very popular on handmade cards, so I will need to make time to put together some packages of those as well.

 

This particular box will be in the upcoming Fine Craft show at the Quinlan:

Unique Artisans Market: Fine Craft Gala @ the Quinlan Visual Arts Center, Gainesville; September 28 – October 1

For Info and Tickets: http://www.quinlanartscenter.org/unique-artisan-craft-festival.html

September 28, 5-6:30pm: Auction Preview and Meet the Artists – Invitation Only

September 29, 9am – 5pm: Fine Craft Market – Open to the Public

September 30, 10am – 4pm: Fine Craft Market – Open to the Public

4pm: Silent Auction, Music in Sculpture Garden, Food Trucks

October 1, 1 – 4pm Fine Craft Market and Artist Demonstrations – Open to the Public

Frances is a stay-at-home mom, community volunteer, and artist who loves all things old, living in the country and keeping chickens.

Leave a Reply

