I Have a Pen Pal!

My Irish Pen Pal

A couple of months ago, I started looking for other artists to follow on social media and blogs. One of the ladies I came across makes handmade cards and art journals. She also has a monthly snail mail challenge where she exchanges a small piece of art or a handmade card with one of her followers. https://puddlesidemusings.wordpress.com/2017/07/19/mammoth-card-making-session/

When she ran a promotion to qualify for her mail exchange, I signed up and hoped to get accepted. I was, and I immediately set to work on a handmade card featuring my tiny bird drawings. I was very excited to go to the post office with my first international correspondence in hand!

Last week, I received my first package from Ireland. I was extremely surprised when I opened the mailbox to find a large decorated envelope waiting for me. Now, I felt bad that I had only sent a small card. Of course that’s not the point of this exchange at all, so I quickly took it up to my studio to see what kind of goodies were inside.

21270786_876554842495180_7603450839671397658_n

It was a card making kit with some really awesome components that I wouldn’t normally seek out myself. In addition to the lovely papers – some of which I already envision turning into guineas and hens – the package contained die cut shapes, templates for making envelopes and small boxes, stickers, and vellum sheets. I think I will have several posts about the fun projects I make with these.

In fact, I plan to copy the templates for envelopes and possibly some of the die-cuts in order to use them with other papers in my stash. If you have been reading my posts for a while, you know I don’t throw anything away and I have lots of little scraps in the new mixed media closet – yes, I said closet – looking for ways to be useful.

21231697_878437768973554_1257666851463873985_n

It will be a few weeks before I post my next project going out to Ireland. Right now, I have a tight schedule getting ready for upcoming art shows and the Christmas season. I should have a post up soon about the annual Cards for Troops project I work on and you will definitely see some of these new papers featured on this year’s cards.

Frances is a stay-at-home mom, community volunteer, and artist who loves all things old, living in the country and keeping chickens.

3 Comments

  1. Ah, love your mixed media closet!
    And I’m glad you like the set. You get a lot of stuff in one die-cut and paper pack, I love buying them when they’re on sale (could be a problem of mine :D) I feel guilty about not using them so it’s great to hear you already have some plans for it!

    Like

    1. Thanks Emma! I don’t throw anything away and I can’t stand a mess, so I have to organize. I moved the studio recently, so having my papers and ephemera in one organized place will make them much more accessible.
      I love the papers and have already gotten some interest in cards from one of my clients who recently commissioned small paintings. I made him a Thank You card with the kit and he loved it. Thanks again for the opportunity to correspond and the lovely papers.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Well happy to hear how it’s already been put to use! Would have been a long time coming before I got a chance to do that so I definitely made the right decision in sending it one its way to you ^-^

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

