A Realistic Assessment

Plan B:

Sometimes things don’t work out, even when we make our best efforts. A community-based project can’t succeed without significant support from the community.

Though it’s possible that we might have a surge of support in the last week of our campaign, it is time to make a realistic assessment of our situation and plan for the future. With less than $1000 raised of our initial goal of $200 thousand, we need to look at our options.

I will be writing to my current contributors this week to assess their feelings on my alternate plan, which for now, will be limited to expanding my current studio space within my home. I will post more on that project once I have approval from my patrons and their contributions have been collected via Indie GoGo.

 

This week:

Thank you so much to everyone who came out to support my trunk show on a dismal Thursday evening: Maria and Don Blencowe of Back to Life Chiropractic and Kristin Hooper and Stephanie Ellis of Southern Sister Couture Boutique, as well as Mrs. Gina Hagan whose patronage made the show a huge success.

Thanks also to Roy for hosting my work in his beautiful shop, The Enchanted Florist and Gifts. I look forward to many more events with both businesses.

To those who couldn’t make it, please stop by at your convenience. I will now have work on display at both stores as a regular vendor.

Vignette

Moving forward:

My fine art schedule has suddenly become quite full, with invitations to submit work for several gallery shows, trunk shows and holiday markets through March of 2018.

I have also acquired several commissions based on my work during the campaign and have a big show next summer for which I was already planning a new series of art and handmade furniture. I will post progress on these projects as they develop.

I have plans for an online store and a line of merchandise featuring several iconic images from my paintings. I will begin the research and organization for initiating these goals once my show schedule is organized and I am making progress on new paintings.

I hope you will continue to follow me on my art journey as I take what I have learned from this campaign to build a successful business as an artist.

Sincerely,
Frances Byrd

Birdhouse Signs

June 29th is the last day of my crowdfunding campaign. You can take advantage of my secret perks until then at the following link:
https://libertasamericanaart.wordpress.com/2017/06/09/secret-perks/

I will deliver locally or pay shipping as part of this online promotion.
Frances is a stay-at-home mom, community volunteer, and artist who loves all things old, living in the country and keeping chickens.

Leave a Reply

