The Struggle is Real!

Photo: Me and Katie in front of a historic bank on main street during our Heartbomb promotion

 

I have been debating whether or not to write this post. I am afraid it will ruffle some feathers. The reality is, I need help.

When I started planning this crowdfunding campaign, I knew it would be difficult to reach my goals. bit.ly/LibertasAmericana I knew people would wonder why I am asking them to help me buy a building.
This project is actually much larger than that. I already contribute significantly to my community, but I could do more if I had the space and resources to work more efficiently and partner with other artists.

I also want to expand the apprenticeship program I started soon after I moved to Commerce. Because space in my home studio is limited, I currently have only one apprentice at a time. If I can purchase a building, I can not only open the program up to local highschool students and interested adults, I can also expand the kinds of skills they learn in my studio. My current apprentice exchanges equal hours of time helping me in the studio for personal instruction on areas of interest to him. He has had extensive lessons in drawing and use of materials while learning additional hands-on skills such as printmaking, canvas stretching, and various steps in the process of fine art creation with a multitude of media.

At the end of this school year, the art teacher for the Primary, Elementary, and Middle School programs took a new job. Rumor has it that art will not be part of the curriculum in the three schools next year because she isn’t being replaced. I think that’s a shame.
You can learn more about my ideas for giving back to the community at the following links:

Community Based Goals: https://libertasamericanaart.wordpress.com/2017/05/31/goals-for-my-crowdfunding-campaign/

Specific Goals: https://libertasamericanaart.wordpress.com/2017/05/31/specific-goals-for-the-libertas-americana-art-studio/

Intro to Collaborative Workspace: https://vimeo.com/219798217

Commerce Heartbomb: https://libertasamericanaart.wordpress.com/2017/03/25/commerce-gets-heartbombed/

 

Unfortunately, when you ask for help, a lot of people think you are asking for a handout. You could ask any of my friends or fellow business owners in Commerce if that were true and I am confident they would all answer ‘absolutely not!’

I want to work with other involved citizens in our community to make Commerce a thriving destination. It’s already a great place to live, but I want everyone else to think so too! Because I don’t have the resources to take on this project alone, I am asking for help. Although you can make a donation without reward, that is not my intent. I have offered a long list of public incentives for the project centered around one of my Liberty paintings. I have also put together a list of Secret Perks for established patrons and online supporters. You can view those here:
https://libertasamericanaart.wordpress.com/2017/06/09/secret-perks/

I know giving money is a big favor to ask and everyone is not in a place where they can contribute. If that’s the case, could you please share this post or the campaign link? It only takes a few seconds and it could make the difference in my success.

Thanks for your help. I look forward to filling you in on the rest of the story.

Frances is a stay-at-home mom, community volunteer, and artist who loves all things old, living in the country and keeping chickens.

 

 

Leave a Reply

