Media Kit for Libertas Americana Art Studio Campaign

Intro

My name is Frances Byrd. I am a stay-at-home mom actively participating in community-based and public art projects. I am a self-taught painter with a BFA in Illustration from SCAD. Combining these skills enables me to tell a story through my art. Passion, patriotism, and individualism are the driving forces behind my art.

When I purchase a building, I want to offer a common area where artists can collaborate and share ideas because  I believe that personal growth comes from understanding other points of view.

I would also offer public classes and events and expand my public art projects. Detailed descriptions of these goals are listed below.

What is a collaborative workspace?

https://libertasamericanaart.wordpress.com/2017/05/31/goals-for-my-crowdfunding-campaign/

 

Services

Fine Art: Americana, Conceptual Art, Illustration, Large Scale Works, Original Commissions.

Artisan: Painted Furniture and Handmade Signs.

Community: Public Art Projects, Workshops, and an Apprenticeship Program.

Community-Based Goals

  • Workshops – offer classes on specific mediums and techniques
  • Cultivate Emerging Artists – offer space at low-cost to emerging artists/craftsmen to establish a professional studio space to promote their art/craft or offer workshops/classes
  • Social Events – offer open studio hours for art journaling, adult coloring, quilting, fine art, or crafting groups
  • Trunk Shows – schedule open studio art shows around city events offering space to local artists/craftsmen to display and sell their work
  • Featured Artist Events – offer display space and opening receptions for local artists/craftsmen
  • Apprenticeship Program – work with local schools and homeschool groups to offer an apprenticeship program in fine art where students trade studio work hours for instruction
  • Public Art – continue to work with the City of Commerce, Jackson County Arts Councils and local civic groups or charities to create public art
  • Lectures Series – schedule informational lectures and discussions on art techniques and cultural issues
  • Panel Discussions – offer scheduled events for artists to discuss cultural issues and community involvment in art and cultural events

Studio Goals

  • Formal Gallery – create a space for display of personal art
  • Offer Commissions – clear pricing and payment structure will be provided up front
  • Rural Art – begin series of art on rural America, igniting a discussion about the traditions and way of life in our community, importance of agricultural communities to society as a whole, and the encroachment of suburban sprawl on our rural communities and wooded areas
  • Historic Art – begin a series of work specific to the history of Commerce, defining who we are as a community and the importance of historic preservation; if possible, use documents and ephemera from our area in pieces of art
  • Prints – offer prints of limited quantity, of specific iconic works of art such as my Liberty series, works to raise awareness of Human Trafficking, and my crow series
  • Apprenticeship Program – use this mutually beneficial arrangement to increase production of small, inexpensive works, increasing availability and access to art within my community, increase social media activity in order to spread exposure of my work outside of my community, and make more efficient use of my time in the studio

Benefits

Attention to detail and commitment to creating the best work possible on every project are distinguishing factors of the Libertas Americana Art brand. It is my goal to create heirloom quality works that will inspire others to preserve our American heritage. My art is not only meant to be enjoyed in the short term, but to be passed on to future generations as reminder of the potential within us all for greatness and prosperity.

Community Projects

Gwinnett County Library: Art Wall Project; Public Art 2008

Patriot Pony Project: Live Painting and Art Show to Benefit Charity 2010

Layfield Golf Tournament Auction: Donation of large Liberty painting, 2010; Donation of fine art print, 2011

Art Papers Gala/Silent Auction: Donation of framed art, 2010; Donation of % of sale on a large painting, 2011

Glenn Pelham Foundation Charity Auction: Donation of large Liberty painting, 2011

Our Lady Nippon Benefit to raise money for 2011 earthquake survivors in Japan: Atlanta, Georgia; Fine Art Donation

Artbox: Cabbage Town Atlanta, Georgia; Public Art 2012

Veritas Academy Scholarship Auction: Donation of fine art print, 2012

Restoring Love Auction for Mercury One: Donation of 3 custom paintings, 2012

Take Aim at Human Trafficking: Donation of 2small custom paintings, 2014; Donation of large custom painting, 2015; Donation of large custom painting, 2016

Scarecrow Photo Booth: Public Art, North Elm Street Commerce, Georgia 2015

Jackson County Arts Council Dancing with the Stars: Event Backdrops , 2015 and 2016

Quinlan Visual Arts Center Annual Gala: Donation of 1 oil painting and % of sales on 2 oil paintings, 2015; Donation of oil painting and % of sales on an oil painting, 2017

Quinlan Visual Arts Center Healing Through the Arts Program: Donation of mixed-media painting, 2016

Jackson County Heritage Geo Cache Trail: Public Art 2015 – Bill Anderson Box, Andrew Jackson Box, Andrew Jackson News Stand

Vision 2030 Public Art Project: Revolutionary Halo Mural 2016

Duluth Montessori School Scholarship Auction: Donation of a small painting, 2016

Jackson County Chamber of Commerce Rotary Club Auction: Donation of salvage flag, 2016

Commerce Water Walk Project: Public Art, Painted Fire Hydrant 2017

South on Broad, Commerce, Georgia: Donation of salvage flag for fund-raising, 2017; Public Mural Project, ongoing

Audience

The City of Commerce and surrounding communities, fine art collectors, people interested in actively participating in a cultural projects

Portfolio

http://www.libertasamericanaart.com/portfolio.html

Cultural Impact and Personal Activism

A cultural approach to Human Rights issues

I have felt compelled to start using my art to help people who cannot help themselves; who live under truly oppressive and subhuman circumstances. 

I understand the power of art to move men’s minds and impassion their hearts. I hope you understand this as well. I understand that we, as individuals, have a moral responsibility to help those in need on a personal level. I hope you understand this as well. There is already a strong current of resistance building, of abolitionists, to fight the atrocities of human trafficking. You probably have an organization in your area. There are certainly national and global groups you could join or support. Please consider doing so.

I understand that art has the ability to capture the imagination. One of the most affective ways to do this is to develop iconography. Make a visible connection that elicits an emotional connection to the viewer.
The issue of human trafficking and sexual slavery is so horrendous, that most people choose not to understand the magnitude of this international industry.  When you admit that it is real, widespread, and local, you realize that there is a market for such an attrocity; and that is very unsettling, indeed.
It is easy to shut down a web link or turn off a newscast, but once you have seen a piece of art depicting the atrocity, it lives on in your mind indefinitely.

This is not a call for gruesome and graphic works of art. I do not approve of shock art for any purpose. It is a call for advancing understanding of the issue and offering support to the victims and organizations trying to help them piece their lives back together.

In my own limited work, I have attempted to convey the horror of the situation while simultaneously highlighting and upholding the very real solutions available. I have tried to humanize the victims and inspire an understanding of the solutions. Most importantly, I am appealing to you, the viewer, to get involved.

Testimonials

My friend, Frances Byrd, is kicking into high gear with her art and community involvement. She is also on the front line in the fight against human trafficking. I invite you to visit her pages and follow her progress over the next few months.” – Betty Taylor

A great artist. A great American leader. A community activist who thinks we should do more all of us for our communities rather than get government involved. A healthier way to make our local communities work. Talk to her. See if you can help. This young woman has some answers, but she is a crowd of one.” – Michael Lancaster

I so totally love you guys and what you are doing, importantly for yourselves, but equally for your community. An amazing story. When you get a minute in all your free time, get me a little more on the three of you and your buildings and I will write a poem for you, celebrating what you’re doing.” – Michael Lancaster

One of the hardest working artists I personally know. And she is on mission.” – Don Byram

Friends, if you love art & are a patriotic American, please consider following my friend Frances‘ page! I absolutely love her passion!” – Tami Nantz

I hope you go far! You’re the best Frances! You have helped me in a hundred different ways! Thank you for letting me in three years ago!! I am indebted always! Love your page!” Rick Wobbe

Frances, you told me a while ago something I will never forget. You said the reason you would be willing to volunteer is because you had seen me thank people who volunteered. So i would say this to you…thanking me for supporting your art is enough!!!’ I love your work and think you are a wonderful person. You get it!!!” – Natalie Thomas

I agree with Natalie. I am more than happy to help you and any other local artist or craftsman in anyway that I possibly can. Your art is amazing and I see all of the time, effort and heart you put into trying to make Commerce better. I would like to thank you for all that you do !! I do think the calendars and art raffle are both great ideas to generate some attention to your art and your crowdfunding plan and goals.” – Leslie Dills

I’ll think on it and get back to you. I support and share your art because I believe in you, your art, and your mission. Hard for me to think about getting something in return for supporting a fellow artist.” – Natasha Stansel

My sentiments exactly. Your art is one of a kind and it makes me happy just to be able to help. You know the adage ….. Karma gives what karma gets. So to help in your journey will also help in my journey down the road.” Linda White

I love your art! The liberty bell and the song birds are simply stunning. Your work speaks volumes to me and so many others. I would love if you did a raffle or a digital download of one of your pieces.” Katie Griffin

My dear friend, I love you more than my luggage! But your friendship is all one would need and to know you’re a phone call away is all I need. Go forth, create and express your feelings and your God-given talent.” Roy Lawler

Leave a Reply

